What’s with the Push Back?

Nek'ka Migel
8 min readJan 9, 2018

A story of naysayers and what to do about them

What’s with the push back? If someone falls in a hole or you see them on the ledge and they’re about to fall in the hole needing your help, why do they have to look at you and say, “Where’s your hole? Aren’t you falling in a hole, too?” Or they might say, “I saw YOU fall in a hole, yesterday”.

What’s with the pushback? Why can’t people accept your willingness to help them, to genuinely help them? Why can’t people just look at themselves, at what’s being said and examine where they are? What’s with the pushback?

Yes, my foot might be in a hole, too. But maybe my foot being in a hole does not stop me from helping others.

I know that the scripture says that I am to pull the beam out of my own eyes before I can see clearly to cast the mote out of my brother’s eye. (Matthew 7:5) So should I just leave a person in the deep hole they are in while I go and make amends to about 10 people, say 10 Our Fathers, and get counseling for a couple of months before I can mention one thing to another person about their issues?

I also understand the scripture that says it is in the spirit of meekness that you go to someone overtaken in a fault to restore them. Going in the spirit of meekness and thinking about yourself, helps you to not be tempted in the same way they

--

--

Nek'ka Migel

Love God, married 5 years, 5 kids, writing a book, Helping Single Parents get to their next level, Prayer Intercessor praying for Small Business Owners.